top of page

What Kind of Camera Do You Use??

This is a question that I wish I would have had more clarity on when I was starting out in photography. In my opinion, when you are a beginner, it is important to have a camera that allows you to have room to grow and possesses more advanced features. However, it needs to not be too overwhelming for the user with too many bells and whistles. You basically have the option between a few basic models of cameras, those being: a point and shoot(compact), mirrorless, DSLR and film. the differences between these guys can be a bit confusing as there is a lot of information and "tech talk" that goes with them. I have found an article that explains these each individually easily enough that a kinder-gardener (or myself) would be able to understand it. When you get into the realm of which brand of camera to use (Nikon, Sony, Canon, etc.), honestly this decision is complete preference of which you think works better with how your brain works. Its almost impossible to find non-bias information on this because everyone has their preference.

The camera I currently use is a Canon EOS T6. This is more of your basic DSLR camera and nothing against Nikon or any of the other brands, I am just more familiar and comfortable with Canon. My experience with this camera has been great and I've been able to capture some great landscape, studio, portrait and senior photographs. In my experience, this is one of the best beginner cameras out there. The main reason why I am still using this camera, besides the fact that I finally understand everything about it, is how expensive a newer more advanced camera is. If I had the funds to be able to buy a new camera that suits my skill ability now I would, but fact of the matter is this camera still works great for my purposes and it still functions perfectly for how old it is. Just remember, no matter which type of camera you choose to start off with, it is always a learning experience and anything can be mastered with a little time!


3 views0 comments
bottom of page